Hidden Price Tag

Everyone knows college isn’t cheap. The books, tuition, room and board, and everything in between all adds up to some ridiculous amount.

The worst college bills are the ones you don’t expect.

For example, one of the reasons I’m going to my college was because freshman are allowed to bring their car. When purchasing my parking pass the price tag stood out as something of a shock to me.

$300 for every 5 months (semester) of parking in the parking deck.

Colleges can do this. They own a profitable location and can drive prices as high as they want in cases like these.

I’m not saying all of these price tags are avoidable, but for fair warning expect these small but influential additions to your college expenses. I will continue to post more hidden price tags as they come throughout my experience.

The next big price tag to come will be food. For all freshman staying in dorms a meal plan is required. The cheapest one comes at $1,700.

Spending money is never cheap.

Leave a comment