Error: Communication Unclear

The thing I worry about most when entering into my freshman year of college is going into school blind and, metaphorically, in the dark. There is a lot about college that is different and scary.

Mostly I feel that the pressure is really on now that I am paying for it. Any fall backs or mess ups could mean I’d sink further into debt than necessary.

This is why communication with my college must be crystal clear.

This has not been the case for me so far. Communication with student services and emails with department workers has been an endless circling of information and redirection on who it is I really need to speak with.

For example, I had a scholarship award I needed to turn in so that I could receive those funds towards my tuition. Originally, I was told to go to the student services center, they told me to go to the accounting office, and the accounting office told me “no” I had to got to another office.

This round about confusion led me to a woman’s desk 45 minutes later. I handed her a piece of paper and she told me I was all set.

Simple as that.

Then I asked a question like…

“How will I know when my money has been taken into account for tuition?”

or

“Will I be notified by the office when the scholarship transaction has gone through?”

Her response was vague and unclear. She started by telling me that she wasn’t sure and that I might be able to see if the transaction went through by asking student services (the office where I started this whole adventure).

An event like this occurred again but worse when I tried to change my major.

This is why communication errors are my biggest fear when entering college.

Make sure communication is as clear as possible.

Ask questions.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment